top of page
  • Writer's pictureHolly Adcock

Overcoming Adversity in the Garden

I was beyond excited to post about my new greenhouse a few weeks ago, and I thought I would have happier news to report by this point about the new seedlings I planted then. But, life happens. And learning usually goes along with that. Learning that hard way, that is.


We disassembled the greenhouse (and most of the garden) shortly after my initial post because of predicted severe weather with hurricane force winds. The thing you have to know about weather in Eastern North Carolina is that it's either going to be worse than what they say it will be, or it won't happen at all. Thankfully, in this case, the storm cell split in two and completely missed us.


So the next day, we put the greenhouse back together, thinking it was safe. It was safe from the storm, but not the gusts of wind that still randomly came out of nowhere. And so the greenhouse toppled over, despite the dozen concrete bricks and stakes meant to secure it. My husband was the one who found it and had the misfortune of telling me what happened. Bless him, he didn't lie to me when I asked him how bad it was. And yes, it was bad. But I know now that it could have been way worse.


Part of the frame was bent, and I lost all but three tomato seedlings of the dozen I had planted over the past two months. But, the frame wasn't broken and could still stand. And after a good cry, I put everything back together, including replanting the seeds I had lost. One of them has already sprouted too, so all is not lost. My husband also triple secured the greenhouse this time by tying it to the fence and outdoor light. We've had a few bad storms since then, and the greenhouse has survived, so we should be good from now on (fingers crossed).


To make myself feel better and compensate for the plants I lost, I went to our local nursery down the road and bought some lettuce plants: romaine (far left), arugula [which the Brits call Rocket] (far right), and baby spinach (top right). It feels so good to have my hands in the warm dirt and to have green things in the garden again.

Even though I know more adversity will surely come in the garden this year, I also know that's just part of gardening. Just this morning I saw the neighbor's cat shitting on my baby spinach. I've learned that I just need to cry/scream about it before I deal with the damage and move on. It's the same way I deal with adversity in my life. I'm going to deal with it; I just need to be dramatic about it first. ;)


Onward my hobbits! Happy playing in the dirt!


Holly

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page